Research in Basic, Translational & Clinical Immunology

Research in Translational & Clinical Immunology

From Molecular to Clinical Immunology

Research in the Department of Immunology encompasses basic, translational, and clinical Immunology.

Major research focuses in the Department span molecular to clinical immunology and include the development and function of innate and adaptive immunity, autoimmunity, immune deficiencies, immunity to infection and tumors, neuroimmunology, and lymphoid malignancies.

The Department offers excellent research facilities and instrumentation which is available for basic and clinical research.

In the context of a major Medical Center, the Department provides a highly-collaborative environment for the pursuit of both basic and translational research.

Within the Department of Immunology close collaborations are fostered between:

  • basic researchers
  • diagnostic teams and
  • clinical immunologists

to understand human disease, develop novel diagnostics and identify therapeutic targets.

Researchers in the Department of Immunology collaborate extensively with other Departments at Erasmus MC (Pediatrics, Neurology, Rheumatology, Hematology, Pulmonary diseases, Oncology and many others) and with other national and international partners.

Understand Human Diseases
Develop Novel Diagnostics
Identify Therapeutic Targets


Research Groups

Rik A. Brooimans, PhD

Laboratory specialist Medical Immunology
Laboratory Medical Immunology, Department of Immunology
Functional Immunodiagnostics (FID) Research

 r.brooimans@erasmusmc.nl

Willem A. Dik, PhD

Laboratory specialist Medical Immunology
Laboratory Medical Immunology, Department of Immunology
Immune Regulation Diagnostics (IRD) Research Group

 w.dik@erasmusmc.nl

Hemmo A. Drexhage, MD, PhD

Professor emeritus Medical Immunology, Department of Immunology
Research on Immuno-Psychiatry and Immuno-Neuro-Endocrinology
Coordinator EU consortium MOODSTRATIFICATION (former: MOODINFLAME, PSYCH-AID)
PROMETEO UCE Ecuador

 h.drexhage@erasmusmc.nl

Stefan J. Erkeland, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Immunology
Small Non-coding RNA and Leukemia (NRL) group

 s.erkeland@erasmusmc.nl

P. Martin van Hagen, MD, PhD

Head of the Clinical Immunology Department
Clinical Immunology Research Group

 w.poon@erasmusmc.nl

H.G. Ruth Huizinga, PhD

Assistant professor
Department of Immunology
Immune-Mediated Neuropathies (IMN) Research Group

 h.huizinga@erasmusmc.nl

Hanna IJspeert, PhD

Primary Immunodeficiency Disorders (PID) Research Group

 h.ijspeert@erasmusmc.nl

Bart C. Jacobs, MD, PhD

Professor in Immunology and Neurology
Department of Immunology
Immune-Mediated Neuropathies (IMN) Research Group

 b.jacobs@erasmusmc.nl

Peter D. Katsikis, MD, PhD

Professor and Head of the Department of Immunology
Infection and Immunity Research Group (IIG)

 p.katsikis@erasmusmc.nl
+31-107044188 (Administrative Assistant)

Anton W. Langerak, MD, PhD

Professor
Laboratory Medical Immunology, Department of Immunology
Molecular Immunodiagnostics (MID) Research Group

 a.langerak@erasmusmc.nl

Pieter J.M. Leenen, PhD

Associate Professor
Laboratory Autoimmune Diseases, Department of Immunology
Myelomonocytic Cells in Inflammation Research Group (AIP)

 p.leenen@erasmusmc.nl

Yvonne M. Müller, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Immunology
Infection and Immunity Research Group (IIG)

 y.muller@erasmusmc.nl

Christopher Schliehe, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Immunology
Antigen Presentation and Immune Regulation Research Group (AIR)

 c.schliehe@erasmusmc.nl

Marco W.J. Schreurs, PhD

Laboratory specialist Medical Immunology
Laboratory Medical Immunology, Department of Immunology
Autoimmune Disease Diagnostics (AID) Research interest

 m.schreurs@erasmusmc.nl

Joost J.F.M. Smolders, MD, PhD

Head of MS Center ErasMS
Neuroimmunology Brain (NIB) Research Group

Vincent H.J. van der Velden, PhD

Laboratory Specialist Medical Immunology
Laboratory Medical Immunology, Department of Immunology
Leukemia and Lymphoma Diagnostics (LLD) Research Group

 v.h.j.vandervelden@erasmusmc.nl

Marjan A. Versnel, PhD

Associate Professor
Laboratory Autoimmune Diseases, Department of Immunology
Systemic and organ-specific Autoimmune Diseases (AIM)

 m.versnel@erasmusmc.nl

Close Menu